Wisconsin Corn Growers Association announces 2019 Corn Yield Contest winners

MADISON, Wis. – At the Wisconsin Corn/Soy Expo this week, the Wisconsin Corn Growers Association (WCGA) named the 2019 Wisconsin Corn Yield Contest winners.

Organized to encourage the development of new and innovative management practices, the contest highlights the importance of using sound agronomic practices in Wisconsin corn production systems.

Winners were selected from five geographical divisions – the Northern and Southern divisions plus three county-specific divisions. The county-specific divisions were based on active county corn grower associations and included: Columbia, Dodge-Fond Du Lac, and Rock. In total, there were five eligible divisions that were awarded cash prizes to the first ($500), second ($250) and third ($100) place winners, where applicable. The winning entries had the highest corn yield based on bushels per acre.

The 2019 winners were:

Columbia County Corn Growers
Paul Kronberg, Rio – 286.0286 bu/acre
David Mickelson, DeForest – 244.4590 bu/acre
Zachary Mickelson, DeForest – 239.5311 bu/acre

Dodge/Fond du Lac County Corn Growers
Jerry Kreuziger, Juneau – 267.5852 bu/acre
Steve Machkovich, Ripon – 250.3034 bu/acre
Dennis Pinch, Rosendale – 243.0977 bu/acre

Rock County Corn Growers
George Andrew, Evansville – 296.7839 bu/acre
Trip Downing, Whitewater – 287.6894 bu/acre
Sam Metcalf, Janesville – 282.6846 bu/acre

Northern Wisconsin
Jeff Laskowski, Plover – 260.3656 bu/acre
Barb Laskowski, Plover – 260.3179 bu/acre
Pat Van Lanen, Seymour – 173.1817 bu/acre

Southern Wisconsin
Randy Budden, Cuba City – 297.8497
Matt Berget, Darlington – 297.0598
Patrick Kleiber, Schullsburg – 293.7015

To be eligible, entrants must be a WCGA member in good standing and the contest entry must be from a field of corn 10 or more acres in size of one variety. The contest area may be any shape, but the contest plot must be a total of 1.25 or more harvested acres.

Wisconsin Corn serves the state’s corn growers through the Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board (WCPB) and Wisconsin Corn Growers Association (WCGA). The WCPB utilizes checkoff funds to develop and defend markets, fund research and provide education about corn and corn products. WCGA is a united, grassroots-driven member organization representing growers from across Wisconsin on important state and national agricultural issues in an effort to increase member profitability and opportunity. For more information, visit wicorn.org.


Recent News

The Radicle Corn Value Chain Challenge

The Radicle Corn Value Chain Challenge

  “The Radicle Corn Value Chain Challenge sponsored by US Corn Farmers” sets out to invest a minimum of US $1.5M in start-up and growth companies from around the world whose innovative technologies and business models create new uses for corn and long-term sustainable...

read more
Farm Rescue launching Wisconsin assistance

Farm Rescue launching Wisconsin assistance

  Farm Rescue is adding Wisconsin to its list of states where the nonprofit assists with a multitude of farming help in emergency situations. With the addition of the Badger State, Farm Rescue and its volunteer workforce will serve a total of nine states, including...

read more