Meet The Winners Of The 2016 Corn Yield Contest

Lisbon, Wisconsin – This year’s record growing season was reflected in yields in the 2016 Wisconsin Corn Growers Association (WCGA) Corn Yield Contest.

Contests were held for growers in Columbia County, Dodge/Fond du Lac Counties, and Juneau/Adams/Marquette Counties, as well as a statewide contest. The contest provides cash prizes to growers of the first, second and third highest reported yields in their respective category. First place winners received $500, second place $250, and third place $100.

The contests for Dodge/Fond du Lac Counties and Juneau/Adams/Marquette Counties both had repeat winners this year. Charlie Hammer, Beaver Dam, won the Dodge/Fond du Lac County contest for the second year in a row with 265 bushels per acre, and Cal Dalton, Endeavor, was the repeat winner for Juneau/Adams/Marquette Counties with 289 bushels per acre. Jim Casey, Randolph, was the Columbia County winner with 287 bushels per acre. The winner of the state contest was Brad Kremer, Pittsville, with 303 bushels per acre.

Entry in the state corn yield contests was free, but was limited to current members of WCGA. Yields were verified at harvest by either a county agent, or a professional agricultural consultant. Yields were confirmed by using either a weigh wagon or truck scale.

Columbia County Corn Yield Contest Results (Grower, City, Hybrid/Brand, Yield)

1. Jim Casey, Arlington, Jung Seed Genetics, 287 bu/acre
2. Corey Stiemsma, Randolph, Jung Seed Genetics, 280 bu/acre
3. Jerry Franz, Poynette, brand not specified, 260 bu/acre

Dodge/Fond Du Lac County Corn Yield Contest Results

1. Charlie Hammer, Beaver Dam, Dekalb, 265 bu/acre
2. David McCarthur, Rosendale, Dekalb-52-61 VTZ, 262 bu/acre
3. Mel Gunnink, Brandon, Dekalb, 243 bu/acre

Juneau/Adams/Marquette County Corn Yield Contest Results

1. Cal Dalton, Endeavor, Pioneer-PO157AMX, 289 bu/acre
2. Jayne Dalton, Endeavor, Pioneer-PO157AMX, 269 bu/acre
3. Greg Linder Farm, Wisconsin Dells, Dekalb-5354, 255 bu/acre

Statewide Corn Yield Contest Results

1. Brad Kremer, Pittsville, Stine, 303 bu/acre
2. Jeff Laskowski, Plover, Dekalb-57-55, 300 bu/acre
3. Barb Laskowski, Plover, Pioneer-PO533, 289 bu/acre

WCGA is a membership organization that represents the interest of state corn growers in the growing and managing of corn grown both for on-farm feeding and commercial sale. WCGA brings together corn growers to provide information and education at regional corn conferences and the annual Wisconsin Corn/Soy EXPO. As part of NCGA, WCGA represents corn grower interests nationally and internationally and also sponsors annual corn yield contests.

Recent News

Wisconsin Corn Growers name Yield Contest Winners

Wisconsin Corn Growers name Yield Contest Winners

LISBON, Wis. [February 6, 2023] – At the Wisconsin Corn/Soy Expo last week, the Wisconsin Corn Growers Association (WCGA) named the 2022 Wisconsin Corn Yield Contest winners. Organized to encourage the development of new and innovative management practices, the...

read more
Wisconsin Corn Growers applaud governor on ethanol support

Wisconsin Corn Growers applaud governor on ethanol support

LISBON, Wis. – The Wisconsin Corn Growers Association (WCGA) applauds Governor Tony Evers for his support for the continued year-round sale of E15 in our state. Governor Evers was one of eight Midwest governors to join together in a letter to the Environmental...

read more