The Wisconsin Corn Growers Association (WCGA) Corn Yield Contest is organized to encourage the development of new and innovative management practices that highlight the importance of using sound cultural practices in Wisconsin corn production systems.

Contest Contact: Nicole Wagner 262.372.2389


Any corn production system can be entered in the contest. Three winners will be selected from each of six geographical divisions in the state. Divisions are based on active county corn grower organizations. WCGA is not responsible for incorrect or missing entries. All rules set forth herein apply to all entries.


There is no cost to enter, but the entrant must be a Wisconsin Corn Grower Association member in good standing. Only one entry per membership, but there could be more than one entry per farm if additional memberships are purchased.


If requested, the entrant agrees to provide records to WCGA of their methods of handling and preparing the land; cultivation and weed control methods; insecticides, herbicides, fertilizers and rates of same that are used; the brand and variety of seed, seeding rate; date of planting, type and brand of corn planter, row width and date of harvesting; and amount of each application and type of irrigation used. Failure to provide such records may lead to disqualification.


Contest field must be in the state of Wisconsin. Contest entry must be at least 10 continuous acres of one variety. Contestant may select the best 1.25 acres in a corn field larger than 10 acres and enter that variety. In the interest of Best Management Practices, grass waterways may be a part of the contest plot area. The length of any rows planted in a grass waterway will be included in the harvested row length if corn rows are planted in the waterway. If corn rows are not planted in the waterway, the length of each row will not include areas in the waterway. The land entered in the Contest must be owned or leased by the entrant and located in Wisconsin. The variety entered must be currently commercially available.


Entries must be postmarked, emailed or faxed by December 8, 2017 to be eligible for this contest. No late entries will be accepted. There is no entry fee for this contest. Completed forms may be emailed to nicole@wicorn.org, faxed to 262-372-3289 or mailed to Wisconsin Corn Growers Association, W226N5956 Lynwood Drive, Lisbon, WI 53089.


A supervisor is required for overseeing all computations and field measurements and must be present during harvesting, weighing, and moisture testing. The Wisconsin Corn Program will only approve supervisors meeting the following qualifications: FFA Advisor, Agricultural Education Instructor, County Extension Agent or Assistant, Natural Resources Conservation Service senior staff, Farm Service Agency CED/Loan Manager/Officer, Farm Credit Services Officer, Bank Ag Loan Officer, Private Crop Consultant, College of Agriculture Instructor, American Society of Farm Managers accredited farm manager, Crop Insurance Agents/Adjustors, or retired individual with listed job title. Current WCGA Board members are eligible. A supervisor cannot have financial or direct business ties to the entrant or a company that sells agribusiness supplies, i.e. totally independent nor employed by the entrant. Call WCGA Executive Director Nicole Wagner when unsure of your selected supervisor’s qualifications. The supervisor name must be on the Contest entry form along with their title, address, telephone number, and email address. WCGA reserves the right to contact harvest supervisor to validate compliance with contest rules.


Cash prizes will be awarded to the first ($500), second ($250) and third ($100) place winners in each geographic division (see map below). The winner is the entry that has the highest corn yield based on bushels per acre. In the event of a tie, both entrants will be recognized as co-winners.


No information on the Contest results will be released until all results are finalized. There will be no exceptions. Results will be released on or before December 31, 2017. Decision of WCGA’s Contest Committee in all matters are final. The WSA committee reserves the right to disqualify any entry without a refund for violation of any rules.


The contest entry must be from a field of corn 10 or more acres in size of one variety. The contest area may be any shape, but must be in one continuous block of corn.

• Entrants and harvest supervisors are responsible for giving accurate row lengths for odd shape plots.
• A total of 1.25 or more acres must be harvested.
• All end rows/turning rows and the equal number of outermost rows on each side may not be a part of the selected 1.25 acre contest plot.

A supervisor must be present at harvest. The supervisors are responsible for completing all computations and field measurements and must be present during harvesting, weighing (gross and tare), and moisture testing. The entrant is responsible for mailing the information. The supervisor must require the entrant to run their combine and any transfer augers to be certain they are empty prior to harvesting the contest area. All wagons or trucks must be checked to make certain they are empty.

MEASURING: Preferred measurement tools are a tape or chain. Measuring wheels are not acceptable for measurement. Each measurement must be recorded on the Contest Entry form. Proper tape and chain measurements are taken with the measurement tool pulled taught but not off of the ground surface.

ROW LENGTH: If the rows are all the same length, measure the length of one row and record the same length for each of the rows harvested. If the rows are not all the same length, measure down the center of each set harvested and record the length for each of the rows in the set. (On pivot irrigation do not subtract wheel space).

ROW WIDTH: Record the row width based on spacing of the planter row units, such as 7.5”, 15”, 20”, 30”, 36”, 38”, etc.



  1. Columbia County
  2. Juneau-Adams-Marquette
  3. Dodge-Fond Du Lac
  4. Rock County
  5. Northern Wisconsin
    • Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Brown, Buffalo, Burnett, Calumet, Clark, Chippewa, Door, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Forest, Iron, Jackson, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marinette, Oconto, Oneida, Outagamie, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Portage, Price, Rusk, Shawano, Sheboygan, St. Croix, Sawyer, Taylor, Trempealeau, Vilas, Washburn, Winnebago, Waupaca, and Wood counties
  6. Southern Wisconsin
    • Crawford, Dane, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jefferson, Kenosha, LaCrosse, Lafayette, Milwaukee, Monroe, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Vernon, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha, and Waushara counties


Harvest Reporting Form (excel)

Harvest Reporting Form (pdf)

Printable Rules (pdf)

Wisconsin Corn Growers Association

Wisconsin Corn Growers Association

W226 N5956 Lynwood Dr.
Lisbon, WI 53089
E. info@wicorn.org
Ph. 262-372-3289
Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board

Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board

W226 N5956 Lynwood Dr.
Lisbon, WI 53089
E. info@wicorn.org
Ph. 262-372-3289